Dre is Back Everybody


Dr. Dre is finally releasing a new album this Friday. It’s been sixteen long years since his last album, “2001”. No it didn’t come out in 2001 (it came out in 1999), it’s just called that. Even though it has been sixteen years we never forgot about Dre and couldn’t be more excited about the new release.

I would personally like to take credit for the new album. This past week we picked Dr. Dre’s first single as our 90’s Song of the Week. I like to think that’s what inspired him to finally release a new album. If you don’t know already, even on his solo albums Dre likes to work more in the background. His firs two albums are more known for helping the careers of Snoop Dogg and Eminem. So who’s appearing on this new album. Check out the tracklist:

1. “Intro”
2. “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All on Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All in a Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. Jon Connor, “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. The Game, “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12. “For the Love of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking to My Diary”

Eminem and Snoop Dogg are making an appearance. That’s not a surprise. Ice Cube is going to be on a track; that’s cool. Kendrick Lamar is going to be on two tracks and that’s just good business by Dre. Kendrick Lamar is maybe the most respected young rapper out there right now. He doesn’t need Dre’s help though; he’s already successful.

The one guy most likely to be made a star by Dre on this album is Jon Connor. No, not the guy who leads the resistance against the machine uprising. He’s a young rapper from Michigan signed to Dre’s label, Aftermath Entertainment.


This album could be amazing. Or it could be a terrible attempt at a comeback by a fifty year old man who hasn’t made an album in sixteen years. You’ll have to wait until Friday to find out. Well, that’s not entirely true. Apple Music will start streaming the album tomorrow at 9PM ET. So if you’re an Apple Music subscriber you can hear it before the rest of us.

Share this: